PHNL Scenery: Cancelled

Colin S

I'm sorry that this isn't under scenery development, but I feel that it is important enough.

This morning, I opened my computer to find the following hell awaiting me: My entire 1TB external hard drive has been formatted in error by my computer. I have lost every single photo I have ever taken; every payware I have ever purchased is now in oblivion. Over 300GB of raw footage for a film that I have been working on for three years is lost. This is the absolute worst day of my life, about as close to your house burning down and loosing your citizenship as you can get for a teenager. 

Currently, I am running over twenty different disk recovery applications. If they find that anything is still there, I won't be using them to recover it - I will send it off, no matter what the price, to a professional rcovery service. I'd like to as a favour of this community, perhaps the last favour I've ever asked: Has anyone else experience this kind of trouble before and what company did you use to recover your files?

Among the files lost are:

300GB of film

290GB of photos

110GB of X-Plane 9 files

100GB of X-Plane 10 files

25GB of academic work

This essentially stops development indefinitely, and not by choice this time. PHNL, despite the anticipation I got of how amazing I could create a scenery, has vanished off the face of the earth. I have the source files still, all the orthoimagery, but it took three days just to align them correctly to the X-Plane scenery.

This pretty much represents the end of my possiblity for applying to film, art, or graphic design school, as every single possible item in my portfolio is gone.

You can get irritated and tell me, "why didn't you back it up?" Well, I can tell you why. I haven't enough money to buy a SECOND 1TB drive. I will be going in debt to get one VERY SOON now that I have experienced this.