BET? X-Plane 12

BET (Black Entertainment Network) - Just kidding.

No I'm referring to Blade Element Theory.  X-plane is based on BET, right? So how is it that folks can fly creations made in plane-maker that should never get off the ground. I was recently looking through this thread. I can see no way some of these interesting creations could fly.

X-Plane 12 is supposed to dial in BET to simulate "1st principle" attributes. 1st principles relates to real-world physics. XP11 also incorporates BET which, to my knowledge, means that an aircraft needs an airfoil and thrust capable of creating lift to fly. I wonder if XP12 grounds (nixes) creations that do not meet criteria for true flight? Since I'm not a developer is there something I'm missing?

1 hour ago, VirtualGAaviator said:

BET (Black Entertainment Network) - Just kidding.

No I'm referring to Blade Element Theory.  X-plane is based on BET, right? So how is it that folks can fly creations made in plane-maker that should never get off the ground. I was recently looking through this thread. I can see no way some of these interesting creations could fly.

X-Plane 12 is supposed to dial in BET to simulate "1st principle" attributes. 1st principles relates to real-world physics. XP11 also incorporates BET which, to my knowledge, means that an aircraft needs an airfoil and thrust capable of creating lift to fly. I wonder if XP12 grounds (nixes) creations that do not meet criteria for true flight? Since I'm not a developer is there something I'm missing?

There is a physics 3D model and a visual 3D model.

The visual model can have any appearance you like.

The bus in that thread shows the base airframe.

The McDonalds restaurant not so much.

4 hours ago, Ben Russell said:

There is a physics 3D model and a visual 3D model.

The visual model can have any appearance you like.

The bus in that thread shows the base airframe.

The McDonalds restaurant not so much.