Local 'Flight Experience' simulators

kneighbour

I happened across a video on Youtube that was of a fellow flight simulator pilot going for a flight on a Flight Training Device. ie a non moving full cockpit simulator. Companies like Jet Flight Simulator and Flight Experience (and others, I guess) provide this service. This latter seems to be a franchise as it is all over the place. Even here in Australia there is at least one (or more) in each capital city.

I mention this as I have been using flight simulators on a home computer since they came out (1978 or so), but have never given these commercial ventures a thought.

This Youtube video was amazing - so I looked around for a comparable local business here in Brisbane - and as it turns out, there are heaps. I was very surprised. The price is not all that bad either - I don't think I would go on one all that often, but it is cheap enough that a couple of times a year is not out of the question. About $100/hr roughly.

My intention is to practice a certain flight (or a few flights) on the PC, then go to the simulator and then fly it there. One of my 'problems' is that all of these companies fly the 737-800, and there is no such aircraft in X-Plane. Well, I am wrong there - the x737, I guess, but until the virtual cockpit comes out, I cannot fly that. In the meantime I am flying the 732 as much as I can, and of course will be onto the IXEG 737-300 when it comes out.

The 737-300 seems fairly similar in switch layout to the -800, the main differences being the glass screens (as far as I can see).

I mention all this here as I am sure there are a lot of people out there like me - never giving these simulators a passing thought.

I am jealous! 100$/hr is a good price, i think. Here in Germany its around 160€ per hour. Not quite cheap. 

I had my first flight in one of those simulators (running Prepared V2 by the way) on 3rd January.