Fly Tampa Montreal for X plane

SwissCyul

Hello once again.

I am thinking of buying the FlyTampa Montreal Scenery and converting it to X Plane.

Does anyone has experience with converting one of FlyTampa's scenery?

It costs 22 dollars and i don't want to waste that money. I have some experience

with FSX2XPlane and i know how to convert a file. But i can't work with WED because it always crashes.

So i don't want to do much extra work with the scenery. 

I hope you have answers to this question and if not thats not a problem. 

Thanks for helping!

And a video of the converted scenery:

Like with most MSFS sceneries a straight conversion always leaves a sour taste in the mouth. The lighting is usually awful based exclusively on LIT textures on the ground and objects to create the illusion of the missing lights. In most occasions the buildings and tarmac (to make them visible at night) seem to glow in the dark with a cartoonish appearance. And the ground textures either disappear from sight at at short distance or they simply look like sh@t. Other common problems I have found is that the specular characteristics of the objects are off, meaning reflexions and the way they cast (or not) shadows. Not to mention the difference in elevation used in the different sims when there is slope on the ground, this makes buildings sink on the ground or float in the air. 

Some if not most of this issues can be corrected but require a considerable amount of time and dedication. And If you are converting a copyrighted scenery all the work can not be shared. I am sure the more experienced X-Plane scenery gurus that frequent this forum can extend the list, but one thing is for sure: each case deserves its unique approach. It is not a matter if it is from the same vendor or not. The only way to find out is to give it a try. 

Alright. Thank you for your long reply.

I don't really know if i should buy it.