Recommendations for Tutorial(s) on JS32 Radio Navigation

JimboG

Hi there,

Please could I ask if anyone has any recommendations for "good" tutorials on Radio Navigation?

The reason I ask is because I am trying to learn how to fly JRollon's excellent J32 a bit better than: "Start, Up, Turn a bit, Down, Stop."

I've flown simulation for some time now so I'm not a complete noob! - but by the same token I have been spoiled by FMCs that have been only to willing to suck in a route I've generated automatically and then fly me from point to point.

In the Jetstream I've figured out a "DirectTo" to the destination airport - but that sucks to be honest.

I can see a plethora of material out there, and I was amazed by Keith Smith of PilotEdge's KBUR to KLAS J32 flight and his use of pre-planned and on-the-fly navigation using the radios. 

But I've got no real idea of how he did it!

I think I could piece it together by studying the route and the video he made here several times:

But I'd prefer to actually learn how to do this properly. To that end, does anyone have any "favorite" tutorials they could recommend?

(I don't mind reading or watching YouTube, and I have both vroute.premium nDAC from Navigraph.)

Thanks in advance.

Kind regards,

James

Hi there,

So I was trying to follow the wiki above and I'm not quite getting it - I managed to get myself to the GUR VOR-DME from Jersey EGJJ and at the point of flying over GUR I checked the Radial for PIKEY (which is where I wanted to go next.) It said 265 - so I put my HDG on 265 and then set my CRS 180 in reverse, let the plane turn to 265 and then hit NAV (I know this is wrong, I am clearly missing the right steps here!) which went to NAV-ARM but then nothing.

Here's what my local map looks like:

post-9026-0-32751800-1359209205_thumb.pn

So would somebody mind giving me some tips on what I need to do to get to PIKEY? Here's my confusion: