Is it allowed...

Colin S

Ok. This is an amazing scenery for CYVR Vancouver International for FSX and FS9: http://library.avsim.net/search.php?SearchTerm=gabbert&CatID=root&Go=Search

But as everyone (in the scenery development and conversion field) knows, when you convert one of these sceneries, it kills all the ground textures. First question:

Does anyone know how to retain the original ground textures and orthophotos from an FSX scenery during conversion?

Here is the second one, much more complex:

I am a scenery developer (for those of you who are troglodites). I wish to convert this scenery for private, personal and non-distribution use only. However, I'm sure others would like to as well, but they will have the same problem as me: a lack of ground textures and orthophotos. So here is what I propose:

Does it break any rules to publish a scenery project which is simply a supplement - in this case ground textures, airport layout and orthophotos - for a scenery file that is converted and lacks those features?

Anyways, let me know, because if it is allowed, I will definitely be making this.

Cheers

Not sure what you mean about killing ground textures. Do you mean vanishing ones?

I find that most ground textures for airport sceneries like CYVR don't just vanish - a lot of the time they get tiny LOD distances and/or weird DDS alpha channels that means they like to disappear after a short distance, but they're still there, and are quite fixable.

Though youhave plenty of experience it seems, for those that don't know (I've been meaning to write a guide on this for ages, I've seen plenty of people throw away good textures! Might as well do it here)...