I'm new to building PC's, Help!

X-Plane Australia

My current situation is that I am running x-plane 10 on a standard 2008 macbook. It is now at the point where it can hardly handle WED. After only owning Mac's beforehand I looked at building a PC. I found that it is even cheaper than I thought to build a powerful system. My only problem is that I have very little knowledge of computers, I have done some research but I know that there are some very knowledgable people on these forums who could give me some advice and guidance (I'm not even 100% sure the parts I grouped together below will be compatible).

This is what I came up with...

Is it overkill?

$2850 Australian Dollars (almost parity with the USD). It may seem like a lot but I payed $2,200 for a macbook 13" back in 08

post-832-0-51951300-1354535064_thumb.jpg

My questions:

Something I don't understand is memory. Would it be better to go for faster memory but 16GB instead of 32?

Also what do you think of the GPU, as far as I know it is arguably one of the best variants of the GTX 680.

Are there enough PCI (another thing I don't understand) slots on the motherboard for everything?

Is 1000W enough power? I intend to overclock the CPU.

Thanks Andy

Basically, with that setup, you will be able to run X-Plane flawlessly, max settings! It's expensive, but fair. You're paying for what you get. 

First off: it is the processor and the graphics card that will contribute to FPS in X-Plane, which is what you want. RAM (memory) won't. 16 GB is more than enough, 32 GB is pointless. Basically it allows you to run more programs at once without memory overload. I doubt you'll be running so many programs at the same time with x-plane, so it's useless.