Comparable Flight Dynamics

Wetted Area

Hello, I'm new to X-Pilot and to X-Plane.  I ran a couple searches for the terms "Flight Dynamics" and only found one thread dealing with a different issue on the Duchess aircraft, so here goes.

I am currently evaluating both FSX and XP.  In FSX, you can attempt to optimize some of the aircraft's flight control effectiveness (among other things) by going through both the .cfg and .air files. 

Question:

- What are the equivalent file types for doing the same flight dynamics optimization in X-Plane 10 Global, and what's the file directory path to those files?

I would like to compare the aircraft optimization capabilities available in both flight simulator platforms.  I am using the default C-172S in both platforms as an initial evaluation starting point for determining which flight simulator offers the most "realistic" flight characteristics.  I do not current have any physical flight controls installed at this time, but I do plan to use a yoke, rudder pedals and a TPM, going forward.  Right now, I am doing all tests with a Logitech mouse, using its track-ball as the "yoke."

My first out-the-box experience with X-Plane was that I was very disappointed with the overall look, given what I had just seen in the company's promotional video.  However, when comparing the out-the-box flight experience of the default Cessna 172SP in FSX Deluxe, with the default Cessna 172 in X-Plane Global, I noticed a significant difference in the flight characteristics.