Jack Skieczius

Setting default dataref values on start up?

So one of the things that erks me the most about X-Plane is that it has some things set on as default. These things range from bleeds being set to all(5) and cowl flaps set to 0.75

When I started coding in lua just a few days now, I realized I could set these values I wanted in these datarefs at start....or so I thought.

Here is the bit of simple code I wrote that I believed would do the trick. It is located at the very beginning of a lua file that is called outside of any function.

--list of things i want to start the sim with
dref_bleed =    xp.getDataref("sim/cockpit2/pressurization/actuators/bleed_air_mode")
dref_boot =    xp.getDataref("sim/cockpit2/ice/ice_surface_boot_on")
dref_APUstart = xp.getDataref("sim/cockpit2/electrical/APU_starter_switch")
dref_cowl =    xp.getDataref("sim/cockpit2/engine/actuators/cowl_flap_ratio")

xp.setInt( dref_bleed, 0) --setting the bleeds to zero on startup
xp.setInt( dref_boot, 1)  --sets boot air to norm
xp.setInt( dref_APUstart, 0) --sets the apu to off on startup
xp.setFloatV(dref_cowl, 1, 0, 0) -- setts the cowls to close.

So what happens is these values sometimes get set when X-Plane starts, but sometimes they get reverted back to the default value that X-Plane has decided. It will work if I reboot Gizmo and it will work if i reload the aircraft after changing and saving a setting to the acf file.

The settings will revert back to default also if you change your aircraft location or reloading it.

I was thinking of using the Events.OnAircraftLoad() but I see it currently doesn't work.

I figure it wouldn't work if i placed it in function main() since i dont want these values set every second, but rather just once on startup.

Is there a way around any of this to make it work each time it would be expected to work?

Thanks.

I was thinking of using the Events.OnAircraftLoad() but I see it currently doesn't work.