question on descent

steve1975

I have been watching the videos and I use Vnav to climb but on descent I notice that people use V/s and disengage the vnav. I believe I heard Jan say in one of the videos in real plane its unrealable. My question is do you use the same info the FMC gave for waypoints speeds and height. If no how do you decide which speeds . I am a newbie and know under 10000 its 250 or less. but I am guessing 220 to put flaps down but how far out and height. 

Is there videos that deal with these things. I am sure they do them in the full flights but I sometimes miss things.

thanks

Hi Steve

There is no black and white answer to your question.  I use a few general rules, and I use various methods for descent.

VNAV descent works fine for me, the initial descent from cruise can be quite steep, the throttles will slow the aircraft down slightly to descent mach number, then the aircraft pitches down to maintain speed, what I see is on the pitch down, the speed is often slightly low, so the initial descent can go up to -6000 ft per min for about 10 seconds, then it corrects itslef to a more normal level.  I don't know if this is what the real aircraft does, and thats what Jan is referring to.  As far as I know, a common way to descent (in real life) and the way I do it is to select V/S mode about 10nm before TOD, select -500ft, then -1000ft, then as you start to intercept the descent path, you can select VNAV and it should result in a more gradual descent.  If you ever descent in V/S all the way down, be aware to change the MCP from mach to KTS at the typical cross over altitude,  26'000ft .  You don't want to have a high mach number in the MCP at low altitudes. It's handy to understand how VNAV switches from targeting a speed in kts, to targeting a speed in mach. You can search mach cross over speed to learn more.