Gran Turismo 5 – Addiction alert!

Simmo W

Gran Turismo 5 – Addiction alert!

I’d better explain myself. In addition to being pretty crook right now, which is really denting my productivity, I just picked up Gran Turismo 5. There are many reviews out there, some great, some not that impressed with it. I’m a GT veteran, had everyone since day 1 (it hurts to play GT1 now), so...

http://xplane10.wordpress.com/2010/11/30/gran-turismo-5-addiction-alert/

Same here Simon, I actually purchased a PS3 just for GT5.  I also have XBOX 360 and Forza 3 but with the lack of good wheel choices for the XBOX 360 (except the Fanatec) and the fact that I already have a Logitech G25, I hardly look at Forza.

I've been into PC racing for a very long time and my current collection includes r-Factor, GTR2, GTL, GTR Evolution, Race, Race On, Ferrari Virtual Racing Academy and my subscription to iRacing.

Judging from my time with GT5 so far I feel that it is almost as good as my two PC favorites, r-Factor with the Historic GT&Touring mod and iRacing.  What's interesting is how GT5 (and Forza 3 for that matter) have really started to become very close to PC racing as far as the physics are concerned.  In addition the graphics are also very good especially considering that the PS3 console cost me less than half of what one of my gaming PC's high end graphics cards cost.  The consistently smooth performance of the game is also note worthy considering the specs on the console.  It just goes to show you what can be done when a game is properly optimized for a specific hardware spec.

It would be nice to have a flight simulator in the future that can provide this level of immersion.

Good to find another fan DJ! Indi's just posted another idea re. Races. Pm me and we'll share psn names, try an online race one day. I have had my ps3 since release day, so it's ancient but can even play ps one games! Finally getting good value out of it, blurays cheaper, hd recorder, iview, etc.